THIS ONE THING …

We daily see and hear of those who have entered eternity, some suddenly and unexpectedly.  May it prompt our own hearts be more fully focused on the Lord and also to clearly share the gospel with those within our sphere of influence.  There are many promises in the Bible, but tomorrow is not one of them.

Philippians 3:13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, …

Barnes Commentary:

This one thing I do – Paul had one great aim and purpose of life. He did not attempt to mingle the world and religion, and to gain both. He did not seek to obtain wealth and salvation too; or honor here and the crown of glory hereafter, but he had one object, one aim, one great purpose of soul. To this singleness of purpose he owed his extraordinary attainments in piety, and his uncommon success as a minister.

A man will accomplish little who allows his mind to be distracted by a multiplicity of objects. A Christian will accomplish nothing who has not a single great aim and purpose of soul. That purpose should be to secure the prize, and to renounce everything that would be in the way to its attainment. Let us then so live that we may be able to say, that there is one great object which we always have in view, and that we mean to avoid everything which would interfere with that.

Clarke Commentary:

This one thing I do – This is the concern, as it is the sole business, of my life

Forgetting those things which are behind – My conduct is not regulated nor influenced by that of others; I consider my calling, my Master, my work, and my end. If others think they have time to loiter or trifle, I have none: time is flying; eternity is at hand; and my all is at stake.

Matthew Henry Commentary:

The life of a Christian is in heaven, where his Head and his home are, and where he hopes to be shortly; he sets his affections upon things above; and where his heart is, there will his conversation be.

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Baptist, Choir, Christian, Christianity, CHURCH, Death, Dying, EVANGELISM, ISRAEL, Italy, Jerusalem, Pastors, Pentecostal, POLITICS, Youth Group, Youth Ministry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.