MY HEALING TESTIMONY (2002)

I have experienced the healing hand of the Lord in my life. God answered my prayers. The following is a chronology of a healing I received in early 2002.

MONDAY: My husband and I were ministering at the local nursing home when I suddenly began to have a sharp pain on my left side. I knew what it was because I had experienced the pain before.

TUESDAY: I went to the doctor and was put on antibiotics. At this point I didn’t find it necessary to take a pain reliever. My thinking was that I would soon start to feel better.

WEDNESDAY: The pain got worse and began interrupting my sleep. I started taking pain medication.

THURSDAY: Although I continued taking the pain medication, my sleep was interrupted again that night. This time it hurt so much that I had to get out of bed. I went downstairs and sat on the couch. I became concerned because I had been on the antibiotics since Tuesday and thought I should be feeling better by now. I was thinking that maybe I would have to go into the hospital, or maybe I would need surgery. In any event I knew that if I didn’t improve I would need to go to the emergency room in the morning.

I started to read the bible and pray for healing. I read Psalm 40.

Psalms 40:13 Be pleased, O LORD, to deliver me: O LORD, make haste to help me.

Psalms 40:17 But I am poor and needy; yet the Lord thinketh upon me: thou art my help and my deliverer; make no tarrying, O my God.

After I prayed I went back up to bed.

FRIDAY: I woke up around 5 am. The antibiotic didn’t seem to be doing much good, and the pain medication was becoming less effective. The pain I felt was similar to the throbbing of a bad toothache, only it was on my side not in my tooth. I started to pray again . . .

“Lord, I know I need to go to the doctor or emergency room today because this is getting worse. Maybe you want me to witness or minister to someone who might be in the hospital room with me. But if that’s not the case Lord, please heal me.”

This time, to my amazement, the pain stopped immediately. I thought to myself the Lord is comforting me until I can get medical attention. When I got out of bed a couple of hours later I was waiting for the pain to start again as I began to walk. It didn’t. In fact it went away and stayed away. That was the end of it. I do believe in going to doctors, and I would have gone back to the doctor if the Lord hadn’t healed me. But the Lord, in His Sovereignty, did choose to heal me at that particular time, and I am most grateful.  Jesus Christ healed people when he walked this earth, and he still heals people today.

Psalms 40:1  I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry.

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Healing, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.