THE ELEVENTH HOUR

When I arrived at the nursing home I met one of the residents in the hallway. His name is George and he’s in his 90’s. Though aged and infirm he greeted me with a cheerful countenance and a wonderful smile.

Later, as I sat outside enjoying the lovely weather, I spoke with another resident, Ella. She also is elderly and ill. Her face was bright and she also greeted me with a lovely smile. I asked her how it was with her living in the nursing home. She told me that because she knows the Lord she has accepted her situation and prays about everything. She also said that if she had been without the Lord, she would not have wanted to live anymore.

These are just two elderly saints that I spoke with yesterday, but there are many others that I have come across over the years. They are a testimony to God’s faithfulness. What a blessing it is for me to be around these elderly people who brightly shine with the love of Christ, even through the very difficult days of sickness and old age. My prayer is that many more of the elderly would come to the Lord who continues to call them, even at the eleventh hour of their lives.

Psalm 92:14 They shall still bring forth fruit in old age; they shall be fat and flourishing; {flourishing: Heb. green}

Proverbs 16:31 The hoary (gray) head is a crown of glory, if it be found in the way of righteousness.

Matthew 20:6 And about the eleventh hour he went out, and found others standing idle, and saith unto them, Why stand ye here all the day idle?

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.