HIDDEN TREASURES

I don’t know Gertie’s age, but she is elderly. She is also blind. When I went to her room to bring her to the Sunday service we were holding at the nursing she was wearing a pretty hat and ready to go. Once, when I asked how she was doing, she said “I’m blessed” and I believe she really meant it! Imagine, in a nursing home, blind, can’t walk, but she is blessed! Who could accomplish that but the Lord! As my husband preached you could hear a loud “Amen!” from Gertie. I was so blessed.

Then there’s Betty and Beatrice, roommates. After the service I was in their room holding both their hands as we shared our “joy of the Lord” and said goodby. Betty is 95, soon to be 96. My husband said Betty’s eyes sparkled. They did, and Beatrice exhibited an uncommon exuberance. That’s the only word I can think of to describe her. Again, I was so blessed.

As my husband was packing up after the service a woman called out to him. She said she came to know Jesus as her Savior at a bible study when she was 14 years old. Before then, she said, she never knew that she could talk directly to God. I guess that would be around 1930. Wow! She said she’s glad she knows the Lord because it makes things a lot easier. Hilda, another resident, told me something similar after the meeting. With a look of confidence on her face, she said knowing the Lord helps her get through.

These are the Lord’s hidden treasures, and truly treasures they are!

Psalms 92:12-15 The righteous shall flourish like the palm tree: he shall grow like a cedar in Lebanon. Those that be planted in the house of the LORD shall flourish in the courts of our God. They shall still bring forth fruit in old age; they shall be fat and flourishing; {flourishing: Heb. green} To shew that the LORD is upright: he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him.

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.