DON’T BEAT AROUND THE BUSH

A recent visit to the nursing home gave us another opportunity to witness. As we stood up, getting ready to leave the lounge, a resident began to tell us about his visit to Italy. He was happy to say that he had seen the Pope, and had received the Pope’s “blessing.” I told him it was funny that I was of Italian ancestry but have never been to Italy, and he a Haitian had been there. My husband often prays for “divine appointments” and I must say this was definitely one answer to his prayers.

During our conversation, my husband and I eventually had an opportunity to share our testimonies with this gentleman, and with his sister who was visiting. He listened attentively and I thought his response was interesting. He said he knew that was what the Protestant’s say. His words led me to think that perhaps someone had been witnessing to him, maybe praying for him. His sister seemed to agree with a lot of what we said. We never know who the Lord is drawing to Himself.

I often tell those I witness to that the direct way I speak to them is the same way I spoke to my mother when she was alive. I wanted my mother to know truth, and I want them to know truth also. This always seems to soften their hearts, and let’s them know that I care for them. If someone is willing to listen, I want to tell the truth plainly and simply. I don’t want to “beat around the bush.” The person may not immediately accept what I’ve told them, but if they’re willing to listen it will be something for them to think about, and may eventually lead them to seek truth. It’s not good to be vague about Gospel truth. Speak the truth in love, pray, and let the Lord do the rest.

Proverbs 11:30 The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life; and he that winneth souls is wise.

1 Corinthians 15:58 Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.

Beating Around The Bush

You are “beating around the bush” when you talk about things indirectly, not stating exactly what you mean. Example: “Why don’t you just come out and say what you want to say? Stop beating around the bush.” When you ask questions or hint at things without being clear about what you mean, you are beating around the bush. Example: “If you want to ask me, just ask; don’t beat around the bush.” Example: “We haven’t talked about it directly; we’ve been beating around the bush.”

(GoEnglish.com Idioms)

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Evangelism, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.