THE POWER OF GOD

My father took a turn for the worse a couple of weeks ago. He suddenly became very disoriented and seemed to exhibit severe symptoms of dementia. He also has a condition which is manifesting by a severe blistering rash on his body. This is very hard to control and they have been trying several different remedies to bring him relief. He also wasn’t sleeping or eating well. Because of all this he was in the hospital for a few days. There wasn’t much they could do so they sent him back to the nursing home, which I think is better because they are taking better care of his blistering skin there.

Although I had only seen my father a few days before when he was in the hospital, I had a sense of foreboding before I left to visit him at the nursing home. I was almost afraid of how I would find him. When I walked into his room he was sleeping, and in his sleep he was making what I would describe as a guttural type sound and scream. I thought he was having a nightmare so I tried to wake him, but he wouldn’t wake up. He woke up when the nurse came in to attend to him, but even awake he continued making this awful guttural sound. He looked gaunt and I thought he was dying!

I put my hand on his chest and I began to pray intensely that the Lord would help, and move on my father’s behalf. I called upon the Lord to move in power because of the blood shed by Jesus Christ at Calvary’s cross. A faith rose up in me as I continued to pray. I asked the Lord to send the promise of the Father, which is the Holy Spirit. I prayed for salvation, healing and deliverance.

After I prayed, my father stopped making that throaty sound. I spoke with him about salvation, the Holy Spirit, and how he had rejected the Word of God for twenty years. I told him that even so, the Lord loved him, and would forgive him, if only he would believe and ask for forgiveness. I told him that if he died without the Lord we would never see each other again, but that if he died as a believer filled with the Holy Spirit, we would one day be reunited. He understood, I know he did, and he prayed with me for forgiveness and to be filled with the Holy Spirit.

He’s been improving ever since, and seems to have taken a turn for the better. I don’t know what the future holds but I know the Lord moved on Sunday and is still moving. I pray that I would have assurance of his salvation before my father dies. Many are praying for my father’s soul.

Matthew 22:29 Jesus answered and said unto them, Ye do err, not knowing the scriptures, nor the power of God.

Mark 12:24 And Jesus answering said unto them, Do ye not therefore err, because ye know not the scriptures, neither the power of God?

Luke 9:43 And they were all amazed at the mighty power of God. But while they wondered every one at all things which Jesus did, he said unto his disciples,

Luke 22:69 Hereafter shall the Son of man sit on the right hand of the power of God.

Acts 8:10 To whom they all gave heed, from the least to the greatest, saying, This man is the great power of God.

Romans 1:16 For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.

1 Corinthians 1:18 For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God.

1 Corinthians 1:24 But unto them which are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God, and the wisdom of God.

1 Corinthians 2:5 That your faith should not stand in the wisdom of men, but in the power of God.

2 Corinthians 6:7 By the word of truth, by the power of God, by the armour of righteousness on the right hand and on the left,

2 Corinthians 13:4 For though he was crucified through weakness, yet he liveth by the power of God. For we also are weak in him, but we shall live with him by the power of God toward you.

2 Timothy 1:8 Be not thou therefore ashamed of the testimony of our Lord, nor of me his prisoner: but be thou partaker of the afflictions of the gospel according to the power of God;

1 Peter 1:5 Who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.