SWEET WINE

Late last evening I was thinking about the wedding at Cana. Then I thought about the bride and groom. Jesus, the Messiah, was a guest at their their wedding. Can you imagine Jesus being a guest at your wedding? That’s also where Jesus did His first public miracle, turning water into wine. I wondered about the couple. Were they aware that Jesus, the Messiah, was at their wedding, and that their wedding at Cana would be recorded in Scripture! Then I thought about the wine. I know that some say that the wine was fermented, which I always had trouble believing, others say it was non-alcoholic. As I was pondering all this the words “sweet wine” came to me. I thought I’ll have to look that up tomorrow. What I found in the Encyclopedia Americana was very interesting . . .

The juice of the grape, when newly expressed, and before it has begun to ferment, is called “must,” and, in common language, sweet wine.

ENCYCLOPEDIA AMERICANA, Published 1833, Original from Oxford University, Digitized Jun 27, 2007, Page 212

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.