NEWS OF A DEATH

Last evening I heard about the death of a woman from my old neighborhood. She was a vivacious type of person.  She had a large family and I remembered some of her children.  The last time that I saw her we were probably both in our 30’s.  I was remembering her, and her children, as they were almost thirty years ago.  Then it occurred to me that time has changed many things. I am no longer in my 30’s and neither was she. She had long ceased to be the young mom I was remembering.  At first I was startled by the news of her death, then I was grieved.  All those years ago we belonged to the same Roman Catholic parish.  I never had an opportunity to witness to her because I was not born again until quite some time after I moved out of the  neighborhood.

I wonder if a Christian ever witnessed to her?

Did she ever hear the Gospel?

These thoughts bring a weeping to my spirit, as I wonder where she is.

In the institutional church of today, Roman Catholics are considered brethren by many of the leaders.  That’s what many leaders teach other Christians.  That’s what many Christians have come to believe.

We have lost our discernment.

Truth has fallen to the ground.

How can we make light of such a serious matter.

Once life is over, it is over.

There is no second chance for salvation.

How important is the soul of one human being?

ONE SOUL – A Poem

Sometimes I think of the past,

As if it’s frozen in time,

Imagine things are the same,

See lives still lived in their prime.

*

Sweet precious babies, newborn,

Songs of life, yet to be sung,

Many, the years still ahead,

Mother, so busy, and young.

*

My thoughts, only illusion,

All of the children are grown,

One by one, each of them gone,

To live out life on their own.

*

And the Mother who raised them?

Time has now taken it’s toll,

She is no longer on earth,

I wonder, where is her soul?

by Cathy White – 2009

Proverbs 11:30 The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life; and he that winneth souls is wise.

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Death, Dying, Evangelism, Heaven, Hell, Parents, Poem, Poems, Poetry, Religion, Roman Catholicism, Salvation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NEWS OF A DEATH

  1. Cathy says:

    So true Elizabeth. Jesus taught about hell, the bible teaches about hell, and by God’s grace this is what we must tell. It is the most loving thing we can do. Because so few speak of hell, sometimes I feel I am being too direct even though I know my motive is love for souls. I needed to hear what you just said. I too have doubts about the experiences that people claim to have. Even so, like you say, we have God’s Word to teach us and we know that God’s Word is true. We cannot save anyone but we certainly can pray and sow much Gospel seed.

    Blessings,

    Cathy

  2. Elizabeth Burke says:

    Just recently I have been away. One day I picked up a free CD in a Christian Charity shop… 23 minutes by Bill Wiese. Listened to it last night and found it disturbing, to say the least. The reality of Hell is something which very few preachers touch on – and yet Jesus spoke more about Hell than Heaven. I am uncertain about all of the many people out there who claim to have experienced Hell, yet this does not change the fact that it is a real and horrific place. We must, in the Lord’s strength, tell everyone we come in contact with about their need of salvation – whatever their reaction. We can only share and pray – the Lord will do the rest. I cannot bear to think of my children, loved ones – and the people who dislike me going to this place. May the Lord give me courage.
    Elizabeth.

  3. Cathy says:

    Thank you for sharing Elizabeth.

    May the Lord bless and encourage you as you continue to labor for Him.

    Cathy

  4. Elizabeth Burke says:

    Thanks Cathy,
    Of course – use it. I have made little laminated bookmarks of it
    to distribute to Christians here in Ireland, in the hope that it will urge them ro reach others. I am a shy person, who has found it difficult to talk to people all my life – but the Lord has helped me in this area and I especially love to write. In recent years I have
    written 2 books – “A Biblical Journey Through the Irish Year.” Also
    “Singing on the Journey Home.” (Some details if you google them) May the Lord continue to bless your ministry.
    Elizabeth.

  5. Cathy says:

    Elizabeth, that is a beautiful poem, and filled with truth. Thank you for posting it here. If you don’t mind I may post it up front because it is very evangelistic.

    Cathy

  6. Elizabeth Burke says:

    I love that poignant poem, Cathy. I had similar feelings once, when a neighbour died. Out of this experience, a 7 verse poem evolved…

    The Graves

    (Matthew 10v32&33)

    One cloudy restless Sabbath Day,
    I went in search of where he lay.
    So pensively I picked my way,
    Past ancient headstones and decay.

    Celtic crosses in the mist,
    Coloured gravestones, raindrop-kissed,
    Crying curlew overhead,
    Wooden crosses, unknown dead.

    The old, the young, the rich, the poor,
    A child, a babe…. a grief to endure;
    A nobleman, a pauper, a puritan, a thief:
    Death knows no boundary, and nor doth grief.

    Who were these within their day,
    Whose bodies now lie clothed in clay?
    Were they told, or did they see
    That Jesus died all souls to free?

    And then I thought on the living-dead,
    For whom His precious blood was shed,
    And how I wished that they could be
    Joyful, saved, from sin set free.

    Oh, how I longed to talk with him,
    Before the flickering light grew dim,
    But hope had drowned in the Great Forever,
    Where land and riches matter never.

    So, brother, sister we must go –
    Tell loved-one, neighbour, friend and foe,
    For how can we so silent be…
    If we love the Author of Eternity?

    Elizabeth Burke (2004)

Comments are closed.