THE OFTEN FORGOTTEN PEOPLE

I don’t think there is anywhere else I would rather be than with the elderly and sick people who reside in our nursing homes.  The Lord has given me such a love for these precious souls.  When I was first born again, twenty years ago, the Lord led me to nursing home ministry.  It has been the greatest blessing of my life to have an opportunity to minister the love of God to these often forgotten people. I remember a pastor who once said that the Lord will follow a person to their grave with the offer of salvation and eternal life. (Once life is gone is too late to be saved.)  I would love to show you all the people at the Sunday services but I believe there are privacy issues that prohibit me from taking their pictures without permission and posting them.  So here is a photo of my 92 year old dad, whom I love dearly, as a representative of these precious people. I am so grateful that my father is still alvie.  The nursing homes are a mission field, and we may never know this side of heaven how many souls have responded to their final call to salvation.

See also  … BEHIND CLOSED DOORS

img_00771

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Death, Dying, Evangelism, Heaven, Hell, Parents, Religion, Youth Group, Youth Ministry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to THE OFTEN FORGOTTEN PEOPLE

  1. Cathy says:

    Hi and thank you for taking the time to post a comment. The place where you now live sounds pretty nice. I hope you are happy there.

    I am very sad to say that just this morning I received news of my dad’s death. His photo is in the post above.

  2. kdivine says:

    I have lived in 6 nursing homes in the past 3 1/2 years. I am 51 year old female with Multiple Sclerosis. I’ve had pretty good luck excepting 1 home. I now reside in a “Greenhouse Concept” residential setting. The general idea is wonderful but we have some kinks to be worked out. This is the 6th place I have lived in and overall and it is, by far, the best!

  3. Cathy says:

    Hi Barbara,

    The elderly are a “special” people. It’s wonderful that you see that also.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Cathy

  4. Barbara says:

    You sound like me! I work in Assisted Living/Retirement Homes and I absolutely love the elderly. They can be such a joy to be with. I’ve been learning all I can about dementia/Alzheimer’s so that I may better understand how to handle those with the disease.

  5. Cathy says:

    Jonie,

    Thank you for taking the time to comment, and for your encouraging words. I do believe there is hope to the very end. I am sorry that you have to be apart from your mom for a season, but glad to know that she came to the Lord, and that you will surely she her again one day. Praise the Lord! My mother died two years ago this month, at the age of 89. She was born again a couple of years before she died. Amazing grace. Truly, how sweet the sound!

    Blessings to you and yours,

    Cathy

  6. Jonie says:

    Dear Cathy – thanks for your beautiful posts, especially for this one. Our heavenly Father is full of mercy and never stops calling us to himself even if we have turned away from him all our life. My mother was saved some hours before she died a month ago. In the midst of our grief it is so comforting to know that she is with our Lord. However many years we might be praying for unsaved family members or friends, we must never give up hope. Our God is greater and more amazing than we can begin to imagine.
    God bless you and your ministry!
    Jonie

Comments are closed.