REMEMBERING MY MOTHER . . .

Today, March 12th, is the 2nd anniversary of my mother’s death so I thought I would repost this.

You can read about my mother’s journey to the Lord here . . .  MY MOM

You can also read below the lovely poem she shared with me before she died.

“Dove Se Piccolino” is a poem my mother learned in Italy when she was a little girl. It’s an allegory, written in a question and answer format. It’s really lovely when recited in Italian. She shared this poem with me for the first time when she was in her late 80’s.  To me, it speaks of glorious resurrection life, the “bare grain” of 1 Corinthians 15:37. Believers who die will one day rise again! This poem has special significance for me because my mother came to the Lord very late in her life.

DOVE SE PICCOLINO?

Dove se piccolino?

(Where are you little one?)

Sotto terra mio bambino.

(Under the earth my child.)

***

E laggiu che cosa fei?

(And over there what are you doing?)

Gonfio e fresco no lo sei.

(Swelling and coolness, I don’t know/experience.)

* * *

Spon darei pi questa sera?

(Will you bloom tonight?)

Spon daro pi prima vera.

(I will bloom in the Spring.)

* * *

Mi darei un fiorilino, come il pesco di giardino?

(Will you give me a little flower, like the peach tree in the garden?)

No, no fiore, ma un desoro, di dare una spiga d’oro.

(No, no flower, but I desire, to give you golden wheat.)

Author Unknown

1 Corinthians 15:35-37 But some man will say, How are the dead raised up? and with what body do they come? Thou fool, that which thou sowest is not quickened, except it die: And that which thou sowest, thou sowest not that body that shall be, but bare grain, it may chance of wheat, or of some other grain:

1 Corinthians 15:42 So also is the resurrection of the dead. It is sown in corruption; it is raised in incorruption:


About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Italy, Mothers, Parents, Poetry, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.