THE BROWN SCAPULAR

Over the past several years I have come to know quite a few of the residents at the nursing home where my father resides.  I have also been blessed by having the opportunity to share the Gospel with many of them.  I have known one particular woman since 2001.  She has come to our church services and is always happy to see us.  Recently her health has been failing and, as a result, has been in and out of the hospital.  Years ago I gave her a Bible and in addition to hearing the Word preached at the church services over the years, I have also witnessed to her privately.  She tells me she loves to hear what I say.  There have been times when she has heard me witness to others and told me later that she loved listening.  She  likes to hear my husband preach also.  What more can I say?  I really thought she was coming along. Can you imagine my disappointment when I recently saw her wearing the brown scapular around her neck?  It was the brown scapular that I am very familiar with.

The Brown Scapular

Excerpt …

Mary’s promise to those who wear the scapular …

whosoever dies clothed in this shall never suffer eternal fire

it shall be a sign of salvation,

a protection in danger

and a pledge of peace

The Brown Scapular of O.L. of Mount Carmel

I said to my nursing home friend “you know that I talk to you like I would talk to my own mother, and you know how much I loved my mother.”  She gave me a big smile and said “yes I know.”  Then I asked her about the scapular she was wearing.  She said “if I am wearing this scapular when I die I will go to heaven.”  She told me her daughter had given it to her.  I told her that although her daughter meant well, and although the promise associated with scapular was something that we had grown up believing, it was a false hope to put our trust in Mary and scapulars.  I reminded her that Jesus was our only hope, encouraged her to seek the Lord and His truth, and then I prayed for her.

As born again Christians, when we are with Roman Catholics, we must always look beneath the surface even when a Catholic professes  love for Jesus.  If we do that, then we will know their true spiritual condition, and know how to witness, and how to pray for these souls.  A long time ago I overheard a Christian say “God would not send my grandmother to hell just because she prayed to Mary.”  The real issue is that if someone knows the Lord they would not be praying to Mary.  They would be repulsed at the very thought.  The said truth is (though many a Christian may dispute it) “Mary” is the mediator for most Roman Catholics.

See  … SALVATION

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christianity, Church, Death, Dying, Evangelism, Heaven, Hell, Religion, Salvation, Youth Group, Youth Ministry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to THE BROWN SCAPULAR

  1. EHH says:

    I am a Roman Catholic. I attend daily mass almost everyday including Sundays. I am involved in several ministries in the Church. All of this does not guarantee me a place in heaven. I try to follow Jesus Christ as close as a sinner like me can and I hold that everyone who believes in Him is one in the body of Christ. Having said that, I do pray for the salvation of those who have refused to take part in the Church that Christ Himself established. Anyone who looks into the history of the Church and has eyes to see will know what they must do for their salvation. Constant conversion and acknowledgement of sin is the way to being saved; there is no one time pass even if one truely believes in the divinity of our Lord. There are now over 26,000 protestant denominations, each trying to follow Jesus, but there is only one Jesus and His only Church.
    P.S. We pray THROUGH the Blessed Virgin for her Son’s intercession, not TO her.

    • Cathy says:

      I want to begin by saying that the Gospel of Jesus Christ is what it is regardless of who perpetrates error. Our focal point must be the Word of God not the Roman Catholic Chruch or the Protestant Church. Salvation is received by faith, a faith that endures to the end, not a momentary profession of faith. Salvation is a gift from God and those who truly believe will have the evidence and good fruit of repentance and faith in their lives. Salvation cannot be earned by good deeds nor can it be earned by sacramentalism. The bible clearly tells us that we may “know” we have eternal life. Our faith is in the atoning blood shed at Calvary by Jesus Christ for lost sinners like you and I. The “work” is finished.

      1 John 5:10 He that believeth on the Son of God hath the witness in himself: he that believeth not God hath made him a liar; because he believeth not the record that God gave of his Son.

      1 John 5:11 And this is the record, that God hath given to us eternal life, and this life is in his Son.

      1 John 5:12 He that hath the Son hath life; and he that hath not the Son of God hath not life.

      1 John 5:13 These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God.

      Ephesians 2:8 For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:

      Ephesians 2:9 Not of works, lest any man should boast.

      Ephesians 2:10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.

      Hebrews 9:14 How much more shall the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself without spot to God, purge your conscience from dead works to serve the living God?

      Concerning praying to or through Mary … all I can say is what the bible says in 1 Timothy 2:5 “For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus;” Praying to Mary is a man made teaching. It is “another gospel” not the gospel of Jesus Christ. I say these things out of a love for the Lord and His Word, and a love for souls. Many do not read the bible and rely on their priests/pastors to teach them. Big mistake. Others do read the bible and rely on their priests/pastors to interpret the bible for them. Big mistake. We are talking about our eternal souls. These are heaven and hell issues.

      You can have peace and rest and assurance of eternal life …

      Please read my testimony …

      MY TESTIMONY

      and please look at the selected teachings on Roman Catholicism here …

      SOUL REFUGE

  2. Cathy says:

    Stephie, Robert, Tim, and others …

    I was a Roman Catholic for almost 40 years. My love and concern for the salvation of Roman Catholics, many within my own family, and the salvation of souls in general, is the reason that I write.

    2 Corinthians 5:14 For the love of Christ constraineth us; because we thus judge, that if one died for all, then were all dead:

    Please read my testimony …

    MY TESTIMONY

  3. Cathy says:

    Thank you for the information Elizabeth.

    Blessings,
    Cathy

  4. Elizabeth Burke says:

    Stephie, (and anyone else who reads),
    You may be interested in a book which I have read in recent times…
    “Far From Rome Near to God – the testimony of 50 converted Catholic
    priests – compiled by Richard Bennett, former Dominican catholic priest and Martin Buckingham. I know that it’s available through Amazon and also Penfold Book and Bible House, in England. (Tel. 01869 249574) E-Mail:PenfoldBK@aol.com A Similar book: “The Truth set us Free – Twenty Former Nuns Tell Their Stories” has also been published.
    I pray that these true stories may be used to God’s glory.
    Blessings, Elizabeth.

  5. Stephie says:

    And Mary said, “Do whatever He tells you.” Be not afraid. Be anxious for nothing. He loves you with a shepherd’s heart.

    Yours in Christ,
    Roman Catholic from cradle to 1980, Evangelical/Charasmatic until 1998, Born and home again Roman Catholic by God’s grace until death.
    Church needs much prayer-

    • Cathy says:

      I left the Evangelical/Charismatic “organized” church several years ago mainly because they have embraced a political and “warfare” theology which is not Christian at all. Another main reason I left is that the “Protestant” church does not seem to understand that Rome preaches a “works” gospel that cannot save anyone. For that reason many, if not most, within the “system” do not witness to Catholics. Love and truth are gravely lacking in both these issues.

      Our allegiance as individuals must be to Jesus Christ the Lord, not a denomination. Jesus said that we must be born again, born of God’s Spirit (John 3). Jesus was not referring to water baptism when he said we must be born again. He was speaking of being filled with the Holy Spirit. If we are not born again we will not go to heaven when we die. It’s that simple. It’s that serious. I encourage you to study the bible on your own and not lean on Catholic or Protestant teachers. Do what Mary said and listen to Jesus. Jesus is the only mediator (1 Timothy 2:5), he died for you, he shed his blood for you, he is God, he is the only one that can save you, and He loves you dearly. Don’t let anyone rob you of eternal life!

      In the love of Christ,
      Cathy

Comments are closed.