JUDICIAL BLINDNESS …

John 7:17 If any man will do his will, he shall know of the doctrine, whether it be of God, or whether I speak of myself.
John 8:43 Why do ye not understand my speech? even because ye cannot hear my word.
Albert Barnes’ Commentary:
His doctrine was offensive to them.  They hated it, and hence they perverted his meaning, and were resolved not to understand him.  Their pride, vanity, and wickedness opposed it. The reason why sinners do not understand the Bible and its doctrines is because they cannot bear them. They hate them, and their hatred produces want of candour, a disposition to cavil and to pervert the truth, and an obstinate purpose that it shall not be applied to their case. Hence they embrace every form of false doctrine, and choose error rather than truth, and darkness rather than light. A disposition to believe God is one of the best helps for understanding the Bible.
John Wesley’s Commentary:
Ye cannot – Such is your stubbornness and pride,
hear – Receive, obey my word.  Not being desirous to do my will, ye cannot understand my doctrine,
Matthew Poole’s Commentary:
And the reason was, because they suffered themselves to be blinded by prejudice, and by their own lusts and corrupt affections, till God gave them up to a judicial blindness, that hearing they heard, and did not understand; and seeing they saw, and did not perceive.
John 7:17 If any man will do his will, he shall know of the doctrine, whether it be of God, or whether I speak of myself.

John 8:43 Why do ye not understand my speech? even because ye cannot hear my word.

John Wesley’s Commentary …

Ye cannot – Such is your stubbornness and pride,

Hear – Receive, obey my word.  Not being desirous to do my will, ye cannot understand my doctrine,

2 Thessalonians 2:10 And with all deceivableness of unrighteousness in them that perish; because they received not the love of the truth, that they might be saved.

2 Thessalonians 2:11 And for this cause God shall send them strong delusion, that they should believe a lie:

John Wesley’s Commentary …

Therefore God shall send them;

That is, judicially permit to come upon them, strong delusion.

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.