TO MY SON

TO MY SON

Son, do you think I love you less,

Because of my new birth?

If truth be known, I love you more,

Knowing, your soul, it’s worth.

* * *

A brand new road I travel on,

Now walk another path,

A different road, than those who will,

One day incur God’s wrath.

* * *

You may not understand, my son,

The many things I say,

Seed planted deep within your heart,

I pray will bloom one day.

* * *

I see so many blind to faith,

When life is almost through,

How can I just ignore the thought,

One day that could be you?

* * *

If you should gain, son, all the world,

What shall it profit you?

The things of earth, a bad exchange,

Your soul at last to lose.

* * *

I love you still, though I’ve withdrawn,

From worldly ways of earth.

If truth be known, I love you more,

Knowing, your soul, it’s worth.

by Cathy White – 2007

Matthew 16:26 For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?

About Cathy

My name is Cathy White and I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Evangelism, Parents, Poem, Poems, Poetry, Religion, Youth Group, Youth Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TO MY SON

  1. Cathy says:

    Thank you .. and yes, that is what scripture is supposed to do.

  2. slpmartin says:

    You take a very important scripture and interface it with your own life’s situation…but isn’t that what scripture should be able to do? A sweet and gentle poem.

Comments are closed.