A MOTHER’S DAY STORY …

It was the end of 1997 and we had just sold our home. Our plan was to move around March of the following year, but unforseen circumstances made it necessary for us to move sooner than planned. Our new residence wouldn’t be ready for another three months so we needed a place to stay temporarily. My parents had a vacant apartment on the second floor of their two family home, so I asked my mother if we could stay there. She said no. Suffice to say that our relationship was not the best, never was, and that it wasn’t all her fault.

I prayed and asked the Lord to “give me my mother back.” I was asking the Lord to restore our relationship. I went on a fast and after three days I hesitantly called my mother again and asked her the same question. She not only said yes, but told me I could store my belongings in her attic. It was from that point on that our relationship slowly began to mend, by the grace, mercy, and Spirit of God.

A couple of years ago I attended a funeral service. The preacher told the people that whatever their relationship was with the deceased person, that’s what it would be forever. Whatever was said was said, and whatever was unsaid would forever remain unsaid. He poignantly went on to say “what is written, is written.” Truly memorable words. On March 12, 2007 my mother went to be with the Lord. The day before she died I stood by her bedside, hoping she could hear me, and said goodbye.  I told her that she was the best mother in the world and that one day we would see each other again.  I thought it might be the last time I would see her alive, and it was.  What is written is written, what was said was said, and by God’s grace I have no regrets.

See also … REMEMBERING MY MOTHER

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Death, Dying, Heaven, Hell, Mother's Day, Motherhood, Mothers, Religion, Youth Group, Youth Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.