LOVE FROM ABOVE – A Poem

Love your parents, love each one,

Love them for the good they’ve done,

Love them hard and love them long,

Love them still when they are wrong.

***

Love them young when all is bright,

Love them old in dark of night,

Love them oh so joyfully,

Love them in humility.

***

Love them with what matters most,

Love them in the Holy Ghost,

Love them truly from your heart,

Love them dear before you part.

***

Love a gift from God above,

Love is lasting, only love.

When their time on earth is spent,

You’ll have treasure heaven sent.

by Cathy White – 2010

1 Corinthians 13  13 And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

http://giannina3.wordpress.com/love-from-above/


About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christian Poetry, Christianity, Church, Mothers, Parents, Poem, Poetry, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to LOVE FROM ABOVE – A Poem

  1. Jingle says:

    lovely post!
    😉

  2. Cathy says:

    Thank you all. I appreciate your comments and encouragement. The poem is born from a work the Lord did in my heart towards my own parents, and I am so grateful.

    Unprecedentedintellectual … I am blessed that you will call your parents and tell them you love them tonight. How beautiful.

    As I felt to write this poem the other night I prayed and asked the Lord to help me, and surely He did. It is only in His power that we can truly forgive from the heart and truly love from the heart. I am so blessed that the Lord has allowed me to experience a small part of this. May it be only the beginning.

  3. brian says:

    and i love this…great poem on the scripture…

  4. Though i am not religious by any sense, i found this poem to have a great power, and point behind it, well done you should be very proud

  5. we sometimes forget our parents are human…because of this i will call my parents and remind them i love them.

  6. slpmartin says:

    Quite a nice spiritual poem…the message is one many should hear…thanks for your post.

  7. heartspell says:

    Very refreshing to hear such respect and admiration. nicely done. Heartspell

  8. wordwand says:

    lovely! wise ! nicely delivered.well done.

  9. What a beautiful poem! Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.