“WITH GOD ON OUR SIDE” SOME THOUGHTS …

I think the previous reviews have pretty much said it all (and done a great job). Having said that, here are some of my thoughts after viewing the film …

1. I liked that there was a focus on “justice for all” in the film. The issue of justice came to my attention during the 2006 Israel-Lebanon war. I became aware of the injustice that the Palestinian people were experiencing during that conflict and I became aware that Christians, whether they realized it or not, were supporting that injustice. That raised a big red flag for me because it is so contrary to the teachings of Christ. That’s when I began to seek the Lord and search the bible for the truth regarding modern day Israel and Christian Zionism. (See also … BLOOD, LAND & INJUSTICE)

2. I really liked the bible references at the end of the film but I wish that there were more. I fully realize that the political situation in the Middle East has to be addressed in order to tackle the false doctrines of dispensationalism and Christian Zionism. At the same time I see the possibility of losing our main focus as Christians … man’s lost condition and man’s need of the Savior. Peace between Jews and Palestinians? Absolutely! But more importantly we are ambassadors for Christ and our main message is … 2 Corinthians 5:20 Now then we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God did beseech you by us: we pray you in Christ’s stead, be ye reconciled to God.

3. I strongly recommend the study guide adapted from Stephen Sizer’s book Zion’s Christian Soldiers. I think that the study guide will bring additional clarity to the topic and will be especially helpful if the film is a believers first encounter with this type of teaching.

4. The topic of Christian Zionism desperately needs to be addressed and I so appreciate anyone who is willing to speak out on this important topic. At the same time I want to note that there are other false doctrines that have entered the “church” that are equally as dangerous. We must be cautious about being drawn into ecumenism in our zeal to expose Christian Zionism.

Ephesians 4:13-16 Till we all come in the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, unto a perfect man, unto the measure of the stature of the fulness of Christ: That we henceforth be no more children, tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the sleight of men, and cunning craftiness, whereby they lie in wait to deceive; But speaking the truth in love, may grow up into him in all things, which is the head, even Christ: From whom the whole body fitly joined together and compacted by that which every joint supplieth, according to the effectual working in the measure of every part, maketh increase of the body unto the edifying of itself in love.

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Christian, Church, Israel, Religion, Zionism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “WITH GOD ON OUR SIDE” SOME THOUGHTS …

  1. Cathy,

    I’m with you on wishing there had been more Scripture used in the film, and am also thankful for Stephen Sizer’s study guide and other related resources made available for free. I’ve also seen some of the ecumenism that you’re talking about among those who are working to expose Christian Zionism. Thanks for that very key warning. Good review!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Adam, glad you liked the review.

      Hopefully more believers will have their eyes opened to the truth when (if) they view the film and read the accompanying material. That is my prayer.

  2. Cathy says:

    I’m glad you liked it PJ … I value your opinion 🙂

  3. pjmiller says:

    Excellent review Cathy, and thanks for letting me know it was up.

Comments are closed.