SPEAKING THE TRUTH IN LOVE …

THE BOTTOM LINE

Many believers are believing a lie, so for the sake of the Gospel and love for the unsaved, it is imperative that we shout a clear and consistent warning. Focusing often on one particular topic may cause some to think that we are somewhat unbalanced. Nothing could be further from the truth. When so many Christians are weighed down with falsehood on one specific topic, it is important for us to repeatedly tip the scale with an abundance of truth, even though some may think us odd for seeming to be so single minded. The bottom line is that if believers think someone is saved they see no need to evangelize.

DUPLICITY

I must say that I did not think that believers could be so easily swayed from truth, but my experiences have brought me to the conclusion that big name preachers have had an incredibly negative influence on the church. They deceive by preaching the true Gospel while at the same time validating a false gospel. That my brethren is called duplicity. The preachers I refer to have embraced Roman Catholicism as a valid Christian denomination and have convinced multitudes to do the same. Let me give you just a small example of this phenomena, and the bad fruit among professing Christians that I have seen over the years …

EXAMPLES

1. The Visiting Preacher

Years ago, in my Assembly of God church, a visiting preacher shared about his meeting with a nun at an event that he attended. His sermon was basically that the Catholic nun loved Jesus and she was a sister in Christ. My friend, also a former Catholic, was sitting next to me in the pew. When she realized where this sermon was going, she took ahold of my arm with the intention of getting both of us out of the church ASAP. But I told her that we should stay and hear what else this man had to say to the congregation, so that we would be fully prepared to address his disturbing message with the pastor of the church. This was later done by my husband and I but to no avail.

2. The Three Catholic Ladies

In another church we attended, there were three middle aged ladies who were all born again and who had come out of the Catholic church. They told us about witnessing to their families, and wanting to get a microphone so they could preach in their neighborhood park. My husband and I loved talking with them. We lovingly called them the three Catholic ladies because they were former Catholics like us. One day, one of them, I’ll call her the unofficial leader of the three, came up to us and asked if we believed that the Catholics were ok. In other words she wanted to know if Catholics needed to be evangelized? My husband and I were shocked by her question. That was an odd question for her to ask after all we had shared with one another other in the past. She said she asked our pastor that same question (a man who is known worldwide) and his answer was yes, the Catholics are ok. Think for a moment, about the bad influence of just a few words from a famous man.

3. The Ministry Alliance

In yet another Assembly of God church, at a meeting with the pastor, he told us that he belonged to a local Ministry Alliance group, and that they had just taken a Roman Catholic on board. He said they were praying together with him for revival. My husband suggested praying for revival with the saved members of his own church. The meeting ended with the pastor suggesting that we find someplace else to worship because we probably wouldn’t be comfortable in his church.

4. The Billy Graham Crusade

Another example of the bad influence of a famous man. My husband and I worked as counselors at one of the Billy Graham crusades. A Roman Catholic who filled out a decision card was sent back to the Roman Catholic church for discipleship. Years later we discussed this wicked practice with one of our pastors. It was a church where Billy Graham was held in high esteem. We were politely asked if we thought our time at that church might be up.

5. The Church We Could Have Joined

I liked the church. They wanted us … “if only we would flow with the Catholics”. We wouldn’t flow.

6. The Assembly of God Nursery School

I found out that the head of the Assembly of God nursery school of my church was a Roman Catholic. The believer who told me didn’t think there was anything wrong with that.

CHRISTIANITY 101

There been many other interactions with born again believers regarding Roman Catholicism. They just don’t seem to understand the basics, that Rome preaches another gospel. This persuasion is not of God.

2 Corinthians 11:4 For if he that cometh preacheth another Jesus, whom we have not preached, or if ye receive another spirit, which ye have not received, or another gospel, which ye have not accepted, ye might well bear with him.

Galatians 1:8-9 But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed. As we said before, so say I now again, If any man preach any other gospel unto you than that ye have received, let him be accursed.

2 Timothy 4:3 For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears;

I HAVE A TESTIMONY

You can read it … here

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Baptist, Billy Graham, Catholicism, Choir, Christian, Christianity, Church, Cults, Evangelism, Italy, Martin Luther, Martyrs, Pastors, Pentecostal, Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.