PASSING THE BATON

Here I Stand

“Unless I am convicted by scripture and plain reason–I do not accept the authority of popes and councils for they have contradicted each other–my conscience is captive to the Word of God. I cannot and I will not recant anything, for to go against conscience is neither right nor safe. Here I stand, I cannot do otherwise, God help me. Amen.
Martin Luther, April 18, 1521”

Pass The Baton

Definition: To give responsibility for something important to another person.
Usage notes: If someone running in a race passes the baton, they give a stick to the next person to run.

Idioms – the free dictionary

Memorial Museums

It is important to remember, and pass on information to the next generation, so that the evils of the past are not repeated. We find an example of this “remembering” in the museums that have been established such as the Holocaust Memorial Museum and the International Civil Rights Center & Museum. That’s a very good thing.

Remember The Reformation

We as Christians have not remembered. We have not taken the stick, and we are not running.

We have forgotten the Reformation. Roman Catholicism preaches another gospel. Martin Luther knew that, but the modern day church leaders have forgotten, and they have influenced a multitude of other Christians. Today, so called Protestant ministers send people to the Catholic church for discipleship at their crusades and, believe it or not, other so called Protestant ministers actually sell rosaries. We are even asked to fast and pray so that Rome chooses the right man to be the new Pope!

Few are protesting anymore and the really sad part is that they are having an unbelievable influence on the Body of Christ. That is a great blow to the evangelizing of Roman Catholics.

On April 18, 1521 Martin Luther said …

“Unless I am convicted by scripture and plain reason–I do not accept the authority of popes and councils for they have contradicted each other–my conscience is captive to the Word of God. I cannot and I will not recant anything, for to go against conscience is neither right nor safe. Here I stand, I cannot do otherwise, God help me. Amen.”

Will you say the same today?

Suggested reading … Fox’s Book of Martyrs by John Foxe

About Cathy

I am a born again Christian, saved in 1988 at the age of 38. My mother was born again in her old age, in her 80's. Her name is Giannina which means "God is gracious."
This entry was posted in Baptist, Billy Graham, Catholicism, Christian, Christianity, Church, Cults, Evangelism, Martin Luther, Martyrs, Pastors, Pentecostal, Religion, Rick Warren, Salvation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.